Am I Near the Fire Still?

Martyrs of Japan: 17th c. Macanese art

Martyrs of Japan: 17th c. Macanese art

Thence she melted into a river of tears, and said in a sweet glow of love: “O sweet and good Jesus, where were You when my soul was in such affliction?” Sweet Jesus, the Spotless Lamb, replied: “I was beside you. For I move not, and never leave My creature, unless the creature leave Me by mortal sin.” And that woman remained in sweet conversation with Him, and said: “If You were with me, how come I didn’t feel You there? How can it be that being by the fire, I should not feel the heat? And I felt nothing but freezing cold, sadness, and bitterness, and seemed to myself full of mortal sins.”

He replied sweetly and said: “… I will that from this darkness you derive the light of self-knowledge, in which you can gain the virtue of humility, and joy and exult in a good will, knowing that I abide in you secretly… But do you know in what way I dwell in you? In the same way that I hung on the Cross. And I take the same way with you that My Father took with Me. Reflect, daughter of Mine, that upon the Cross I was blessed and was sorrowful… And know why I do all this: only to make a soul reach true perfection.”
Saint Catherine of Siena

5 thoughts on “Am I Near the Fire Still?

    • From my time in England, I have some very good friends from Syria (though none of them are Christians). Following the news has been heartbreaking for years.

      On this topic, Pope Francis recently said, “There are many martyrs today, in the Church, many persecuted Christians. Think of the Middle East where Christians must flee persecution, where Christians are killed… There are more witnesses, more martyrs in the Church today than there were in the first centuries.” [ http://www.news.va/en/news/pope-there-are-more-christian-martyrs-today-than-e ]

      • Yes, I read that comment by Pope Francis. We ardently pray daily for our brothers and sisters around the world who are being persecuted for their faith.

Leave a Reply

