Confidence through Weakness

So now, since you want to belong entirely to God, why should you be afraid of your weakness – on which, in any case, you shouldn’t be relying.
Saint Francis de Sales

One thought on “Confidence through Weakness

  1. Reblogged this on multicolouredsmartypants and commented:

    Yes this quote is going to be printed off :-)

    ‘I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me’ (Philippians 4:13) gets bandied around a lot by well-meaning-but-naive types. Trouble is that it often gets interpreted as ‘I can do all things because I am strong’ rather than ‘my weakness is huge, but grace gives me strength’ (which is what Paul is actually saying in the rest of the chapter – he’s talking about suffering). In the face of ‘I can do all things because I am strong’ I just want to run away and hide, appalled at my weakness, but given the other interpretation… as long as I say ‘yes’, I am strengthened beyond what I ever imagined. God has been showing me this, lately – this strength that He bestows. It is a somewhat fearful thing, but it is nonetheless beautiful.

Leave a Reply

