Because He Suffers Divine Things

Jacques MaritainThe spiritual man knows divine things through inclination or connaturality, not only because he has learned them, but because he suffers them [passio divinorum].
Jacques Maritain (1882–1973)

One thought on “Because He Suffers Divine Things

  1. Amen. I had become worried when I entered a period of not suffering that I would ‘lose’ something. It took a while but God reassured me to accept this time of goodness as a time of convalescence, to remember to always thank Him, to worship and to never forget those who are still suffering – because He never forgets. He told me to be a good friend, and then planted a new friend in my life, who does not know Him (yet). God is always good.

Leave a Reply

