Bond of Faith

pier-friendsI felt the truth of Saint Augustine’s words when he says, “Lord, our hearts are restless until they rest in you”; in fact, foolish is he who pursues the joys of the world, because these are always fleeting and cause pain, wheeas the one true joy is that which faith gives us, and our beloved companions particularly by the bond always stay united [to us and each another] even if life’s contingencies hurl us very far from each other.
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati (19011925)

One thought on “Bond of Faith

  1. My heart feels restless. My mother-in-law had a major stroke last weekend. She already had vascular dementia which had led to perhaps a 30 second short term memory. Now she can’t swallow, can’t open her eyes, can’t remember where or even who she is and is continually crying out, indistinctly (her speech has been badly affected), “Where am I? What’s happening? God help me! I don’t know where I am!” Over and over and over. Sat by her side yesterday was the first time I ever really considered whether euthanasia was sometimes viable. I don’t think it is, but I can’t see the point in prolonging such misery, such despair, by using a drip for hydration and a tube for nutrition. I thank God she is a woman of faith but I keep asking Him to take her home, where she belongs. It’s like watching a dreadful, real life version of one of Dante’s circles of hell. I know that if she could, she’d want to let go, to run into the arms of eternal life.

Leave a Reply

